‘Syntec Team’ blog series – Chris MacMahon

Team Syntec

‘Syntec Team’ blog series – Chris MacMahon

Our team is at the core of everything that we do and plays a vital role in ensuring that every one of our customers receives the highest level of service and support.  

Each month we will bring you an interview with one of our team of experts. This month, we sat down with one of our Customer Support Executives, Chris MacMahon.

Hi Chris, thanks for taking the time out of your day to answer our questions, it is much appreciated!

How long have you been at Syntec and what does a normal working day look like for you?

I joined Syntec earlier in the year and like everything else in the past year or so, the normal varies from day to day.  From troubleshooting new network designs to advising our clients on best practices for PCI compliance – Each day is different and brings with it a new challenge!

What is your favorite thing about working for Syntec?

The team of people I work with – if I run into an issue that I need assistance with, I have a team of experts on hand that I can reach out to.   

What job would you be terrible at and why?

An attorney. Do I need to say more?

What was your last job before you worked at Syntec?

I have worked in the network engineering sector for over 15 years, although I previously did some systems administration with smaller companies and startups.  Primarily I have worked with a security focus in mind.

So Chris, what motivates you to work hard?

A job well done, it’s good to see a project you are working on come to completion. 

When you are not working, what are your favorite things to do?

I live in a large family home in Maine and pre-covid my family would often gather on the weekends and I would cook for 15+ people. I enjoy baking bread, barbecuing chicken and steaks, as well as smoking pork and fish. I was given a ‘Clam bake’ table, that is used for cooking lobsters. I enjoy entertaining people, whilst cooking over open fires.

Like many, I’m a father. I have 3 girls, aged between 8-16 years old.   The youngest enjoys playing in the dirt and making magic potions for me to use (mostly chalk and sand mixed together).

The middle loves to water ski and during the summer we try to get 2-3 hours a day in on the course by our home. The oldest has discovered the joys of her cell phone and wants limited time with her father.  Thankfully, I still get to pick on all 3 of them when in public. It’s not uncommon for each of them to roll their eyes at my awesome “dad jokes”.

Photo of meat and veg on the grill, infront of lake.

What is your favorite book?

I am a fan of the Harry Potter series.  The first books I enjoyed was Tom Clancy.

Who would be your dream dinner guests?

My family, I get to see them most weeks!

What’s the best place you have ever traveled to?

In my youth, I went to Tito’s island, and parts of Sarajevo.  Those are my top two.

What is one thing that you would like to do in the next year that you have never done before?

The Pandemic has changed my goals. Just eating a meal in public would be a fantastic step for me! Longer-term, my wife of 10 years and I would like to go back to Jamaica to enjoy the heat during our wintertime.  

Thanks again for sitting down with us Chris and giving your time to answer our questions  – Let us hope that 2021 brings us the opportunity to try your cooking!

Keep an eye out for next month’s blog where we will sit down with another member of our team and learn a bit more about them.